Wimbledon History & Prestige

The Wimbledon Championships are the third Grand Slam event in professional tennis running from late June for two weeks into the first week of July . Currently, £ 16,000,000 in prize money is offered by Wimbledon to more than 600 professional men and women.

The men's champion receives a miniature replica of the as well as prize money.

The women's champion receives a miniature replica of the , along with prize money.

Since 1903, the men's singles division has a best of five set format, while the women only play a best of three set format.

wimbledon club entrance

Notable historic moments in Wimbledon Tennis History are:

  • Men:In the Wimbledon Open era, Pete Sampras of the USA, holds a record 7 Wimbledon singles titles in the following years: 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000.
    The Swiss active player Roger Federer, and number one seed holds 6 titles in these years: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009.
  • Women: In the Wimbledon Open era, Chris Evert holds the tile of most wins with seven (1974–1975, 1979–1980, 1983, 1985–1986).