French Open History

The French Open, initially called the "Internationaux de France" is a professional tennis event played on outdoor red clay courts in Paris, France at the Stade Roland Garros.

The Stade Roland Garros was built in 1928 and has been played there ever since on a red-clay surface (also called "terre battue"), which tends to increase longer points and exciting rallies from the baseline. It is not uncommon for rallies to be up to fifty strokes which is why it is considered one of the most difficult grand slam tournaments to win. Visit the French Open and learn more about top French tennis players such as Françoise Durr, Yannick Noah, Guy Forget, Henri Leconte, Mary Pierce, Sebastian Grosjean, Amélie Mauresmo and others.

roland garros tennis ball The French Open is the second Grand Slam event in professional tennis running from late May for two weeks into the first week of June since 1973. Currently, €16,807,400 is offered by the French Open to over 600 men and women.

The men's champion receives a miniature replica of the silver-gilt Coupe des Mousquetaires, named after The Four Musketeers of French tennis: Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet and René Lacoste as well as prize money.

The women's champion receives a miniature replica of the Coupe Suzanne Lenglen (Suzanne Lenglen Cup), along with prize money.

Since 1903, the men's singles division has a best of five set format, while the women only play a best of three set format.

Notable historic moments in French Open Tennis History are:

  • In 1927 a group led by the French Musketeers (Jacques Brugnon, Jean Borotra, Henri Cochet and René Lacoste) won the Davis Cup - and changed the course of the French Championship forever. Lacoste was known as "the crocodile" and went on to design the well-known shirts that have his name.
  • Suzanne Lenglen won six of her seven French titles between 1920 and 1926, and was ranked number one in the world from 1925 to 1926.
  • In 1968, the "French Open" became professional when it converted from being just the French Championships. it allowed entry from both amateur and professional level players and became the first Grand Slam to offer prize money to the men and women.
  • Men: In the French Open era, Björn Borg holds the most wins with six (1974–1975, 1978–1981). Furthermore, Borg shares the title of most consecutive wins with four straight (1978–1981) with Rafael Nadal (2005–2008).
  • Women: In the French Open era, Chris Evert holds the tile of most wins with seven (1974–1975, 1979–1980, 1983, 1985–1986). The most consecutive wins during the French Open is three by Monica Seles (1990–1992) and Justine Henin (2005–2007.

Be one of 1000s of tennis fans at Stade Roland Garros this year to watch Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Andy Roddick, Juan Martin Del Petro, Novak Djokovic, Frenchman Gael Monfils, Wilfred Tsonga, Serena & Venus Williams, Kim Clijsters, Justin Henin, Maria Sharapova and surprise newcomers on the toughest surface in tennis.