U.S. Open Tennis History New York

The US Open started as an event for amateur originally called the US National Championships in Newport, Rhode Island at the Newport Casino. In its first year in 1881, only men were competing for a championship title until 1887 when women also participated for women's singles and the doubles titles began in 1889.

In 1892, the U.S. Mixed Doubles Championship formally became part of the tournament. The venue for the US Open stayed in Rhode Island for 34 years. In 1915, the tennis tournament became too big for its location on Rhode Island and changed its venue to the West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills, New York until 1977.

The West Side Tennis Club featured grass courts until 1975 when the court surfaces were changed to green clay courts or Har-Tru surface. In 1978, the venue changed again to its current location in Flushing Meadows, NY with the current acrylic hard court surfaces. It is at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Corona Park in the Queens borough of New York City.

The U.S Open is the fourth and final Grand Slam in professional tennis running from late August for two weeks into September. Currently, $18.5 million is offered by the US Open to over 600 men and women.

Notable historic moments in US Open Tennis History are:

  • In 1968, Arthur Ashe, an African-American, won the first men's final at the U.S. Open,
  • Virginia Wade, a Brit, won her first women's title at the U.S. Open only five months into her professional tour debut.
  • In 1979, Tracy Austin becomes the youngest US Open champion at the age of 16 years defeating four-time defending champion Chris Evert Lloyd with 6-4 6-3 in the finals
  • in 1990, Pete Sampras at only 19 years (and 28 days) becomes the youngest US Open Mens Singles Champion, defeating Andre Agassi with a 6-4 6-3 6-2 score in the finals.
  • In 2009, Roger Federer won his record sixth consecutive U.S. Open mens singles title.
  • in 2010, Roger Federer's record streak was halted in 2010 by Juan Martin Del Petro won the men's singles title.
  • Serena Williams won the women's title in 2010 to add to her accomplishments and grand slam trophies.