Australian Open History - A Major Slam

The Australian Open tennis tournament is the first of the four major Grand Slam tournaments. Each year it is hosted at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. The other three Grand Slams are the French Open, Wimbledon, and the U.S. Open.

The tournament was initially called the Australian Championships and started in 1905. It did not officially change its name until what we presently call it today, the Australian Open, until 1968 which is coincidentally when the "open era" began.

The Australian Open is an exciting tennis experience for fans to view their favorite tennis players endure the Australian heat and look at how players perform on the Rebound Ace court surface. All of the grand slam tournaments showcases unique player skills because of the fact that not one major has the same surface.

For a good choice of hotels with discount prices, visit Where to stay in Melbourne for more information